Regional Coalitions

Regional Coalitions are located throughout the state and draw upon the resources of individuals and organizations to improve the quality of life for elders living in Illinois.


Their mission of improving the life for elders is accomplished through the provision of educational programs that support engagement with providers, family members, regulators, and elders. Throughout the state, Regional Coalitions host panel discussions, lectures, roundtables, symposiums, conferences, and seminars which offer the latest information and innovations in culture change practices. These events promote the sharing of best practices to help those serving the elders of IL in their culture change journey.


Although independent, all of the Regional Coalitions have support from a strong champion organization. Many of the coalitions are supported by the Illinois Long Term Care Ombudsman Program, or as an initiative of an Area Agency on Aging. Others have close ties with a nursing home or with another advocacy group, such as The Alzheimer Association. These champions provide a range of assistance from clerical support, to providing a space to meet, to seeking out educational speakers.


Regional Coalitions are an important component of the Illinois Pioneer Coalition in the overall effort to improve the quality of care and life for elders. It is through this support that local communities come together across the state to share and support each other with their culture change initiatives.  


Don’t have a Regional Coalition in your area? Find out how to start one!

Regional Coalitions List

Following is a list of Regional Pioneer Culture Change Coalitions. Be sure to contact the coalition in your area for more information and become a part of their activities!

Area 1: Northwestern Illinois Regional Pioneer Coalition- Rockford Area

Area 2: Northeastern IL Pioneer Coalition – North, Central and South sub-regions

Glenda Love

Area 2/5:  Central IL

Area 3/6: Western IL Pioneer Coalition – Moline, Quincy, Galesburg

Stephan Maxwell

Area 8: Southwestern Illinois Pioneer Coalition – Belleville 

Chris Fulton

Area 9: Midland Area Pioneer Coalition – Midland Area

Jason Hill

Area 10: Southeastern IL Pioneer Coalition – Wabash Co.

Area 11: Southern Illinois Pioneer Coalition – Carterville – Williamson Co

Becky Salazar

Area 12/13: Chicagoland Regional Coalition

Candice Mitchell